MONTANA STATE LIBRARY (MSL) COMMISSION MEETING 10:00 a.m., July 11, 2023 Zoom

MINUTES

Recording can be found at:

YouTube: https://youtu.be/07n9aKvJc9I

Unedited closed captioning is available.

ATTENDEES:

Commissioners:

Elsie Arntzen (Superintendent of Public Instruction), Tom Burnett, Carmen Cuthbertson, Tammy Hall, Brian Rossmann (Commissioner of Higher Education Appointee), Robyn Scribner, Chair Peggy Taylor

MSL Staff:

Sean Anderson, Jennifer Birnel, Malissa Briggs, Tracy Cook, Sharon Hardwick, Pam Henley, Jim Kammerer, Genevieve Lighthiser, Jennie Stapp

Guests:

Rafaela Acevedo-Field, Mike Anderson, Matt Beckstrom, Nick Beckstrom, Pamela Benjamin, Star Bradley, Bill, Brooke, Jessie Browning, Deborah Caldwell-Stone, Jan Carmichael, Stephanie Chase, Carmen Clark, Sarah Creech, Emily Daniels, Diane, Emily Drabinski, Micah Drew, Starr Emery, Elliott Franklin, Tracie Hall, Cindy H., Rebecca Headrick, Julie Hinton, Edwin, Frederick Ferrer, Kerry Finley, John Finn, Frances, Mary Davis Fournier, Raymond Garcia, Karen Gibbs, Dana Gonzalez, Susan Gregory, Nancy Hall (OBPP), Hannah, Heather Higgs, Dave Ingram, Alan Inouye, Jan, Jayne, Jenna, Janay Johnson, Dan K., Teresa Kelly, Anne Kish, Dylan Klapmeier, Jeff Laszloffy, Slaven Lee, Mary Mackay, Dr. Joe Malone, Julie Mauck, Michelle, MSPL, Miles City Public Library, Louis Moffet, W. Morales, Nancy, Chase Ollis, Elizabeth Orloff, Derek Oestreicher, Tony Parrott, Alba Pimentel, Jennifer Pippin, Abigail Prado, Alyssa Ramirez, Kelly Reisig, Leah Richardson, Doralyn Rossmann, Sarah, Wil S., Anna Shschemelinin, Wilma Smith, Michelle Smyers, Sophia Sotilleo, Staci, Robin Steenman, Sabra Stene, Kit Stephenson, Karen Perry Strayer, Roberta Swank, Lamont Turner, Cheryl Tusken, Jonna Underwood, Kirk Vriesman, Melissa Walling, Wendy, Monika Wigert, Gavin Woltjer, Judith Y, Billie Wayne county Michigan

Agenda: Attachment 1

(00:00:38) Call to Order and Introductions

(00:01:02) Welcome new Commissioner, Brian Rossman, Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education Appointee

(00:03:08) <u>American Library Association organizational membership</u> – **Action** – Commission

Membership invoice

(00:03:14) Motion by Commissioner Tom Burnett to immediately withdraw from the American Library Association and discontinue any further payments except for existing contracts to it or its subsidiaries. The body of the letter to the ALA is as follows:

Dear Executive Board and Officers,

The purpose of this letter is to announce the Montana State Library's immediate separation from the ALA. Our oath of office and resulting duty to the Constitution forbids association with an organization led by a Marxist. Sincerely, MSL Commission and the motion passed.

(01:12:53) Vote

- Elsie Arntzen-aye
- Tom Burnett-aye
- Carmen Cuthbertson-aye
- Tammy Hall-aye
- Brian Rossmann-nay
- Robyn Scribner-aye
- Peggy Taylor-abstained

(00:20:00) Public Comment on any matter not contained in this agenda and that is within the jurisdiction of the State Library Commission.

(01:14:20) Other Business & Announcements

(01:15:55) Chair Johnson adjourned at 11:16 am