
Staffeldt, Darlene 

From: Scheier, James 
Sent: Tuesday, January 22, 2002 3:45 PM 
To: Strege, Karen 
Cc: Staffeldt, Darlene 
Subject: theft 

Karen and Darlene ­

You asked me whether a person who fails to return library materials can be charged with theft. The 
statute that you cited, 45-6-309, would not apply since library materials are really not "rented" or 
"leased." That statute is normally used to prosecute theft of rented videos or DVDs. 

However, the basic theft statute, 45-6-301, would appear to cover theft of library materials, assuming 
the prosecutor could establish that a person purposely or knowingly failed to return the materials. 

I spoke with several prosecutors in our office. They advised me that it's possible to prosecute this 
type of offense, but they are not aware of any instances where Montana prosecutors have actually 
charged anyone with theft. One prosecutor I spoke to used to work for the Missoula City Attorney's 
office years ago. The city librarian would occasionally send over a list of library users who had failed 
to return materials and ignored overdue notices. The city attorney's office would apparently contact 
those persons and raise the possibility of a theft charge, and that got the materials returned in most 
instances. 

Local libraries should contact their city or county attorney, as appropriate, to determine whether those 
prosecutors would view this as theft and, if so, how they would prefer to handle it. 

Let me know if you have any questions. 

Jim 
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Staffeldt, Darlene 

From: Strege, Karen 
Sent: Tuesday, January 22, 2002 9:20 AM 
To: Scheier, James 
Cc: Darlene Staffeldt (E-mail) 
Subject: Theft and libraries 

Jim, 

MSL has been asked to research if not returning materials to a public library is "theft" under Montana 
laws and, if so, what types of penalty might be imposed by the city or county. 

I found this section, does it or others apply to library property? Thanks. 

Karen 

45-6-309. Failure to return rented or leased personal property. (1) A person commits the offense of failure 
to return rented or leased personal property if, without notice to and pennission of the lessor, the person 
purposely and knowingly fails to return the property within 48 hours after the time provided for return in the 
rental agreement, provided that clear written notice, in bold print, of the date and time when return ofthe 
property is required and of the penalty prescribed in this section is stated in the rental or lease agreement. 
(2) Presentation to the lessor by the lessee of identification that is false for the purpose ofobtaining a rental or 
lease agreement constitutes prima facie evidence of commission of the offense. 
(3) After the rental or lease period specified in the rental or lease agreement has expired, failure to return rented 
or leased personal property within 72 hours ofwritten demand by the lessor, sent by certified mail to the renter 
or lessee at the address given at the time of entering the rental or lease agreement, constitutes prima facie 
evidence of commission of the offense. 
(4) (a) A person convicted of failure to return rented orleased personal property not exceeding $1,000 in value 
shall be fined not to exceed $1,000 or b.e imprisoned in the county jail for a term not to exceed 6 months, or 
both. 
(b) A person convicted of failure to return rented or leased personal property exceeding $1,000 in value shall be 
imprisoned in the state prison for a term not to exceed 10 years. 

History: En. Sec. 1, Ch. 239, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 581, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 616, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 397, L. 1999. 
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